close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

LUNAfest Film Festival

International Women's Day

2021-03-08 12:00:00 2021-03-08 17:00:00 America/New_York LUNAfest Film Festival Celebrate International Women's Day, and view this year's lineup of seven documentaries by and about women. Online

Monday, March 08
12:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2021-03-08 12:00:00 2021-03-08 17:00:00 America/New_York LUNAfest Film Festival Celebrate International Women's Day, and view this year's lineup of seven documentaries by and about women. Online

Celebrate International Women's Day, and view this year's lineup of seven documentaries by and about women.

A streaming link and passcode will be sent to all registered attendees the morning of the event and is valid for 48 hours from 12 pm EST on March 7 - 12 pm EST on March 9, 2021

.

Since 2001, LUNAFEST has been flipping the script, creating opportunities for women in film. These talented women directors bring stories from all over the world­–sharing new perspectives and lighting a fire in the industry. This year, LUNAFEST Film Festival celebrates its 20th year of showcasing powerful and diverse female filmmakers, and giving their short films a wider platform. The 2021 lineup includes seven short films:

.

Overexposed: Filming and Arctic Odyssey by Holly Morris. A behind-the-scenes look at the film team that captured the daring story of the Women’s Euro-Arabian North Pole Expedition.

Knocking Down the Fences by Meg Shutzer. AJ Andrews, the first woman to win a Rawlings Gold Glove Award, struggles to make it as one of the best professional softball players in the world.

A Line Birds Cannot See by Amy Bench. A 12-year-old sets out on a harrowing journey to the United States to find her mother, from whom she was separated at the border.

The Scientists Versus Dartmouth by Sharon Shattuck. A young neuroscientist and her colleagues make a life-changing decision to speak up for women in science everywhere.

Until She is Free by Maria Finitzo. Mixed-media artist Sophia Wallace imagines a culturally cliterate world, where all people are equal and able to live with rich possibility and purpose.

Connection by Tracy Nguyen-Chung & Ciara Lacy. A lifelong angler, Autumn Harry, had never fished beyond the waters of her reservation — until she picked up a fly rod.

Betye Saar: Taking Care of Business by Christine Turner. There’s no stopping this legendary artist, even at age 93.

AGE GROUP: | Seniors | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Movies, Music, & Performances |

TAGS: | |

Online

AskUs@barrielibrary.ca
Phone: 705.728.1010

Hours

 

 
Mon, Apr 12 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Tue, Apr 13 9:30AM to 7:00PM
Wed, Apr 14 9:30AM to 7:00PM
Thu, Apr 15 9:30AM to 7:00PM
Fri, Apr 16 9:30AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Apr 17 12:00PM to 5:00PM
Sun, Apr 18 12:00PM to 5:00PM

About the branch

Welcome to our virtual space, where we invite participants to watch a video and explore our digital library or register for a remote

Upcoming events

Mon, Apr 19, 10:00am - 11:00am

Mon, Apr 19, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Mon, Apr 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
This event is full

Tue, Apr 20, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Apr 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Apr 20, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Registration is now closed

Wed, Apr 21, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Apr 21, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Wed, Apr 21, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Apr 21, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
This event is full

Thu, Apr 22, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Apr 22, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Apr 22, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Thu, Apr 22, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Thu, Apr 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
This event is full

Fri, Apr 23, 10:00am - 10:30am

Fri, Apr 23, 10:00am - 10:30am

Fri, Apr 23, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Sat, Apr 24, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
Registration is now closed

Sun, Apr 25, 10:00am - 10:30am

Mon, Apr 26, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Mon, Apr 26, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Apr 27, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Apr 27, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Tue, Apr 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Apr 27, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Registration is now closed

Wed, Apr 28, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Apr 28, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Wed, Apr 28, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Apr 28, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
This event is full

Thu, Apr 29, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Apr 29, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, Apr 29, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Thu, Apr 29, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Thu, Apr 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
This event is full

Fri, Apr 30, 10:00am - 10:30am

Fri, Apr 30, 10:00am - 10:30am

Fri, Apr 30, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Fri, Apr 30, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Mon, May 03, 10:00am - 11:00am

Mon, May 03, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Mon, May 03, 7:00pm - 10:00pm

Tue, May 04, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Registration is now closed

Wed, May 05, 10:30am - 11:30am

Wed, May 05, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Wed, May 05, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Fri, May 07, 10:00am - 10:30am

Fri, May 07, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Sat, May 08, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Sat, May 08, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Mon, May 10, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Tue, May 11, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Tue, May 11, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Registration is now closed

Wed, May 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Wed, May 12, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Thu, May 13, 10:00am - 10:30am

Fri, May 14, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Sat, May 15, 2:30pm - 3:30pm

Tue, May 18, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Registration is now closed